Mariana Báez Holiday Cookie Classes

Regular price $30.00
/

Only 84 items in stock!

All sales are final. No refunds or exchanges will be given on any cooking classes at this time.

Get ready for the holidays with cookie decorator extraordinaire Mariana Báez.

In this special series of classes, Mariana will teach us:

  • How to Create the Perfect Sugar Cookie {FREE CLASS}
  • How to Make Day of the Dead Sugar Skull and Cempasuchil Sugar Cookies
  • How to Make Blue & White Talavera Sugar Cookies
  • How to Make Mexican Christmas Sugar Cookies: Piñatas, Puerquitos, & Jarritos 

Journalist and founder of Mexico In My Pocket, Luisa Navarro, will host the class while making sure questions get answered and that everything moves along in a timely manner.

For more details on what we will be preparing and a list of FAQ, scroll down below. 

HOW TO CREATE THE PERFECT SUGAR COOKIE CLASS

WHEN: Thursday, October 22nd at 4 PM PST, 5 PM MST, 6 PM CT, 7 PM EST.

WHERE: Via Zoom (We will email you a link a few days before class)

COST: FREE (Subscribe to our email newsletter to get the details emailed to your inbox)

ABOUT THE SUGAR COOKIE CLASS:

In this 1-hour class, Mariana will teach you everything you need to know about how to make sugar cookies. You will learn how to:

  • Prepare cookie dough.
  • Create the perfect roll to make your cookies look even.
  • Properly cut the dough to get sharp shapes.
  • Bake the perfect cut outs while also creating a delicious soft and chewy sugar cookie.

WHAT YOU'LL RECEIVE:

A few days before class, you'll receive an email including the full recipe and grocery list so you can shop for the ingredients, cook along with us, or take notes if you choose to make them later.

DAY OF THE DEAD SUGAR COOKIE CLASS

WHEN: Saturday, October 31st at 9 AM PST, 10 AM MST, 11 AM CT, 12 PM EST.

WHERE: Via Zoom (We will email you a link a few days before class)

COST: $30

ABOUT THE DAY OF THE DEAD SUGAR COOKIE CLASS

In this 2-hour class, you will learn how to:

  • Make your own royal icing from scratch.
  • Achieve the right consistencies and colors to decorate fun and colorful Mexican sugar skulls and beautiful cempasuchil flowers.
  • Transfer images to cookies.
  • Outline and flood.
  • Pipe flowers to achieve a 3D look. 

WHAT YOU'LL RECEIVE:

A few days before class, you'll receive an email including the full recipe and grocery list so you can shop for the ingredients, cook along with us, or take notes if you choose to make them later.

MEXICAN TALAVERA COOKIE CLASS

WHEN: Saturday, November 21st at 9 AM PST, 10 AM MST, 11 AM CT, 12 PM EST.

WHERE: Via Zoom (We will email you a link a few days before class)

COST: $30

ABOUT THE MEXICAN TALAVERA COOKIE CLASS:

In this 2-hour class, you will learn how to:

  • Make Royal Icing from scratch.
  • Achieve the perfect consistencies and colors to decorate fun and colorful Mexican talavera tile cookies.
  • Outline and flood cookies.
  • Wet on wet techniques
  • Transfer designs on cookies.

WHAT YOU'LL RECEIVE:

A few days before class, you'll receive an email including the full recipe and grocery list so you can shop for the ingredients, cook along with us, or take notes if you choose to make them later.

MEXICAN CHRISTMAS COOKIES

WHEN: Friday, December 4th at 5 PM PST, 6 PM MST, 7 PM CT, 8 PM EST

WHERE: Via Zoom (We will email you a link a few days before class)

COST: $30

ABOUT THE MEXICAN CHRISTMAS COOKIE CLASS:

In this 2-hour class, you will learn how to:

  • Make Royal Icing from scratch.
  • Achieve the perfect consistencies and colors to decorate fun and colorful Mexican Christmas piñatas and traditional marranitos and jarritos.
  • Outline and flood cookies.
  • Wet on wet techniques.
  • Transfer images to cookies.
  • Achieve fun piñata textures on your cookies. 

WHAT YOU'LL RECEIVE:

A few days before class, you'll receive an email including the full recipe and grocery list so you can shop for the ingredients, cook along with us, or take notes if you choose to make them later.

FAQ

Who is the instructor?

Mariana is a cookie decorator born and raised in Monterrey, Mexico. She's the mom of a toddler, and baking has become the perfect way to take time for herself and express her creativity.
As a self-taught baker, Mariana found out early in her journey that many classes weren't beginner-friendly. It's why her classes are approachable even for novices, and incorporate all she has learned from years of research and experience. 
Mariana has taught many in-person and live streaming cookie baking classes, and is proud to help beginners take their cookie decorating to the next level. Her next big project will be launching on-demand online courses.

    Who is the host? 

    Luisa Navarro is the founder, creator, and curator of Mexico In My Pocket. A Mexican-American journalist, former national news producer, and graduate of Boston College and Columbia University School of Journalism, she founded Mexico In My Pocket in 2015 as a way to shed light on the beauty and traditions of Mexican culture. Her website Mexico In My Pocket is dedicated to her grandmothers, Tita Susana and Tita Lupita, who taught her to be proud of her heritage and to always remember where her ancestors came from.

    What is the format of the class? What do I need to have ready in advance?

    This class will be taught virtually via Zoom. Mariana will lead us through each recipe step-by-step from her home kitchen in Ontario, Canada, while Luisa will host class and cook along with everyone from her home kitchen in Brooklyn, New York.

    Please Note: Some recipes may require advance prep. If a recipe does require advance prep, we will email you the details a few days prior to class so that you can have everything ready to go on the day of class.

    Oh no, I can't join at the exact time and date! Will you be recording the class?

    Yes, we'll be recording each virtual class and send the recording via email to everyone who signed up. You don't have to be present the day of, you can always watch the video recording at your own time and leisure.

    I never received an email confirmation — what do I do?

    Please check your junk and spam folders and add our email to your address book to avoid further issues. If you still don’t see it, email us at luisa@mexicoinmypocket.com or DM us on Instagram or Facebook @mexicoinmypocket and we’ll help you resolve the issue.

    Do I need Zoom to access the class?

    Yes, in order to join you must download the Zoom app in advance.

    Do I need a computer to access class?

    You can choose to access the class from your smart phone or computer.